Digipave Online Marketing Agency
Recall Embarrassing WhatsApp Messages

You Can Now Recall Embarrassing WhatsApp Messages

Ever wish you could take back a WhatsApp message? Well, now you can :-).

WhatsApp finally released a feature that lets you recall embarrassing WhatsApp messages that you send by mistake. The new, long awaited feature which is being called “Delete for Everyone” allows you to “delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake” as explained on the company’s FAQ page. This is without a doubt good news for WhatsApp’s 1 billion users.

This new release is a big improvement upon WhatsApp’s current delete feature which only lets you delete messages from your own phone. When deleting messages for yourself, it has no effect on your recipients’ chats and your recipients can still see the messages in their chat screen.

The process to delete message for everyone is quite simple:

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  3. Tap Delete > Delete for Everyone.

This new feature does have a number of limitations though. For example, messages can only be deleted for everyone up to seven minutes after sending. Also, to successfully delete messages, both you and the recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp. This will most likely act as an incentive for people to upgrade to the latest version of the app.

Facebook-owned WhatsApp continues to impress users and roll out features such as “delete for everyone” and colorful text status updates. What new feature do you think will be released next? Are you as excited about this feature as we are? We’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below, on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

 

 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *